Kruger National Park Wild Dogs

Information and Discussion on the Fauna and Flora of the Kruger Park
Bushcraft

Kruger National Park Wild Dogs

Post by Bushcraft »

I get the impression that the wild dog numbers are on the increase in Kruger. An assumption based on the number of sightings over last few months.

What do you guys think?

Lisbeth
Site Admin

Re: Wild Dog Numbers

Post by Lisbeth »

Not only last few months, BC. I have the impression that it is not a rare sighting anymore. Of course I have no personal experience, I only base my observation on the Travel Tales, that I have seen the last year or so.

cheetah

Post by cheetah »

I think so too Bushy
There have been many sightings of the doggies! And most of the packs are large packs!
I know the Orpen Pack has more individuals than when I saw them in December! Hopefully, all the packs are growing healthily

Peter Betts

Post by Peter Betts »

Latest estimate of Wild Dog Numbers in GREATER Kruger Park = 370 dogs

Peter Betts

Post by Peter Betts »

biggest packs are ...Berg en Dal (Seen often at Croc Bridge too), Phalaborwa and Redrocks

Richprins
Committee Member

Post by Richprins »

Thanks, Peter!

Wild Dog numbers are very tricky, and have always been "estimated" at around 350. That is why a couple of Tourist-driven photographic censusses have been done, with excellent results, starting in the late 80's/early 90's.

However, even those showed strange pack movements and totals, and weird movements by single dogs.

The point is, they are the ultimate nomads, and probably the major carnivores least dependent upon local preferred prey species, territories, water supplies etc.

Also, they are extremely susceptible to canine distemper, rickets and other diseases, which may wipe out most of a pack, causing the rest to disppear as they are very sensitive about their pack structures. In fact, should some new domestic disease reach them, it may be a massive disaster.